Return of 31 Days of Our Favorite Horror: Soma, Soma, Soma Chameleon

Part 2 

by Mike

When I last played Soma the game began to set up the where and the why of the story.  At first I wasn’t sure if I should believe it.  The initial contraption you get into looked a lot like the seat in Total Recall and I thought that maybe this was all made up.  While I can’t say for certain that what is happening is real, I can say I’m leaning in that direction.  The setup and reveal for your apparent time travel was pretty good and brings some heavy questions with it.  Questions that in a way, I feel, relate back to some of those brought up in The Swapper.  I’m also getting a vibe that reminds me of The Matrix in that it asks that if reality is perception, what does it matter whether it’s physical or digital?

Aside from the philosophical angle, the game has stepped up it’s horror quotient the further in I dive.  I mean, I hadn’t even died up until what I think was halfway through the game.  But when I did, man, it scared the crap out of me and my oldest who was watching at the time.  I was in a medical complex and I told him to come see the nightmare that was stalking me since I couldn’t accurately describe it.  So I peeked out from a corner and down the hall he saw the black misshapen figure lurching down the corridor making a sort of winded screech as if it’s lungs were punctured and filling with blood.  I moved forward a bit so that we could get a better look and that’s where I screwed up.  I forgot I was holding something to smash a window that was already cracked.  The object caught the wall and caused a loud CLANK, which alerted the lumbering hulk to my presence.  That thing turned on a dime, howled, and trucked at me in a full sprint causing me to do an about face and try to run away.  Yeah, that didn’t work as I got caught on a doorway I tried to run through and the monster got me and turned out my lights.
It’s gone this way several times now in different spots since the game is putting these things in the path, making you figure out how to get around them.  I think I’m close to the end, there’s only 3 trophies left to unlock and I’m about to reach a location that has been mentioned as the end of the road.  I’m anxious to get back to it and see how it will all end.

Leave a Reply

