Happy Thanksgiving From The Untenable Podcast

IMG_0234.JPG

This is the time for giving thanks, and I would say that this year I have more than usual to be thankful for. Every year is the standard thankful nod to health, employment, family, yadda, yadda, yadda, etcetera, etcetera. But this year is different for me, at least, because this is the year that I went out and did something that I’d only been talking about for a while – I started a podcast with one of my oldest and best friends.

As previously mentioned in the podcast, Mike and I had talked for years about starting a podcast since we’ve been avid listeners of various podcasts. For me, I’ve listened to the likes of WTF, Smodcast, Tell ‘Em Steve Dave, The Joe Rogan Experience, Mohr Stories, No Agenda, How Did This Get Made, and Your Mom’s House Podcast. Mike also listened WTF and How Did This Get Made, but also podcast standards like The Smartest Man in the World, The Dana Gould Hour, Giantbomb, and Cheap Ass Gamer. Our lives have been informed by some great voices in podcasting, storytelling, and comedy, so it was our goal to be at least a fraction as entertaining as our influences.

For Mike and I, starting this blog and podcast has meant that we worked to prioritize our time and dedicate otherwise precious gaming, watching, or listening time to managing and producing content for all of you. And I think that I can speak for both Mike and I when I say that these past three months have been a blast. We’ve been able to synthesize our normal conversations about various media and put it out here for you all to listen in on and be a part of. This has also encouraged Mike to produce written content, which is something that he doesn’t quite always enjoy, but because it’s about something that he enjoys greatly, gaming, it doesn’t seem to have been so difficult for him to work with. For me, I love writing, but I also find it challenging at time to devote the time due to writing well, but I still look forward to producing content for the blog.

As far as learning how to record, produce, and distribute the actual audio content, that has been one of the most rewarding parts of this for me. While I’ve always been a techie of sorts, I’m somewhat technologically inept at the execution of tech. It takes me a while to learn, and if it weren’t for the “how to” videos on YouTube, I don’t think that I would have been able to get the podcast started.

But then I saw the first few downloads show up in the Libsyn report. Gotta say, it was pretty amazing to know that someone in another state, or even another country, took the time to download and possibly listen to our little podcast. I know that right now our numbers are really low, but I am sincere when I say that both Mike and I are extremely grateful for each and every listener and download we receive. We would love to see those numbers reach into the thousands per episode someday, but that’s on us to make happen. Just knowing that we have a number of people who either follow the blog and download when the links go live, or some who have subsrcibed to us in iTunes, that means the world to us.

So it is in the spirit of Thanksgiving that Mike and I extend a sincere wish for a fun and relaxing Thanksgiving holiday to all of you out there, and yet again thank you for giving us an extra reason to be thankful this year.

Leave a Reply

