Inherent Interest

Inherent Vice still

Okay, so this week the first trailer for a film by a filmmaker whose career has made an impact on me, while simultaneously boring Mike to tears. That filmmaker is Paul Thomas Anderson, discussed at length by both Mike and I during our last two solo casts.

The new movie is Inherent Vice, and adaptation of the Thomas Pynchon novel of the same name. I’m excited to see this movie, not specifically because it is a Paul Thomas Anderson movie, but rather because it is an adaptation of a Pynchon novel. I’m about halfway through his 1990 novel, Vineland, and that narrative is, well, intricate and wacky. I know the leads in Inherent Vice and Vineland are different characters, but they seem cut from the same cloth. Vineland’s Zoyd Wheeler is as close to a functional burnout as one can get, and his meta-referential tangents about politics and pop culture seem like perfect fodder for adaptation, however, that movie has yet to be made. As I have yet to read Inherent Vice, and I really should, it seems that Doc Sportello, as portrayed by Joaquin Phoenix, is a shadow of Zoyd and the remnants of the counterculture elements of the 60s. Once I finish Vineland and hopefully begin Inherent Vice, I look forward to possibly finding some connective tissue between the respective narratives. I don’t know if Pynchon is known for creating universes in which his characters intermingle with one another, something that Paul Thomas Anderson had attempted, but only contained within one narrative, Magnolia. So far, this movie looks promising and has my full attention.

Leave a Reply

